Delaware Canal Clean-Up Day

Saturday, April 8, 2017 | 9 a.m.

Along all 58.9 miles of the Canal

Please help!

All 58.9 miles of the Canal are ready and waiting for the Friends’ annual spring cleaning, and we’re hoping for good weather.

The Morrisville- Yardley Rotary Club in action.
The Morrisville- Yardley Rotary Club in action.

Holding with tradition, the Canal will be divided into  31 Work Areas, and volunteer coordinators will handle the logistics for each of the Areas. On-land and by-boat clean-ups are encouraged.

If you have questions or would like to volunteer, please call the Community Coordinator of your choice or contact the Friends’ office at 215-862-2021 or friends@fodc.org.

Delaware Canal Clean-Up Day Work Areas Saturday, April 8

Here’s the list of this year’s work areas from north to south.  The names of the Clean-Up Day Coordinators or Canal Tenders are included for each area, and contact information is given.  Help is especially needed in the highlighted areas.

Easton to Wy-Hit-Tuk Park
Tom Grube, Canal Tender – 610-810-6220 – mailto:tgrube7896@aol.com

Williams Township: Wy-Hit-Tuk Park to Mueller’s Store
Carole Mebus, Canal Tender – 610-253-4214 – cemebus@fast.net

Riegelsville/Upper Black Eddy: Mueller’s Store to Indian Rock Inn
Katie Martens, Park Educator – 610-982-0161 – kmartens@pa.gov.  In addition to on-land clean-up, Katie plans to bring some canoes for those who want to do some in-water work.

Upper Black Eddy: Indian Rock to Berm Lane
Roger Keller & Upper Black Eddy Historical Society – 610-982-5714 – mailto:rwk2001@gmail.com

Upper Black Eddy: Berm Lane to Lodi
Janice Armstrong and Steve Schlosser – Canal Tenders – 908-995-0605 – mailto:janarmstrong8@msn.com

Tinicum Township: Lodi to Uhlerstown
Happy and Sam Shipley, Canal Tenders – 215-990-2941 –mailto:ikoikoiko@earthlink.net

Tinicum Township: Uhlerstown to Lock 17
Appalachian Mountain Club, Del Val Chapter – Rich Einstein – 732-668-3774 – mailto:riche1943@aol.com

Tinicum Township: Lock 17 to Bridge 3
Sheree Cote and Tom Lurz  -Canal Tenders – 215- 297-0528 – mailto:kingsisl@comcast.net

Tinicum Township: Bridge 3 to Bridge 2
Peter Shaw, Canal Tender – 215-297-0374 – mailto:pdddshaw@comcast.net

Point Pleasant: Bridge 2 to Mountainside Inn
Hank Goldberg, Canal Tender – 215-817-4915 – mailto:hankjoelgoldberg@gmail.com

Point Pleasant/Lumberville: Mountainside Inn to Lock 12
The Getchell Family  – 215-297-8080 – mailto:sgetchell@comcast.net

Solebury Township: Lock 12 to Virginia Forrest Recreation Area
Monica Hemmers and Steve Heimann, Canal Tenders – 215-620-7186 – mailto:steveheimann@gmail.com

Solebury Township: Virginia Forrest Recreation Area to Centre Bridge
Daniel Schwager, Canal Tender – 215-297-9727 – mailto:dschwager@comcast.net

Solebury Township: Centre Bridge to Phillips’ Mill
Robert McEwan, Canal Tender – 215-862-5229 – mailto:robertandmariamcewan@gmail.com

Solebury Township: Phillips’ Mill to Rabbit Run
David and Vicky Child, Canal Tenders – 215-862-1402 or 215-862-3600 (store) –mailto:store4933@theupsstore.com– working on Sunday, April 9

New Hope: Rabbit Run to Lock 9
Pam Can and New Hope Garden Club – 215-693-1757 – mailto:can0789@aol.com

New Hope: Lock 9 to Bowman’s Hill
Ray and Sara Altieri, Canal Tenders – 215-862-9943 – mailto:sararayaltieri@aol.com

Upper Makefield Township: Bowman’s Hill to Stoney Run Aqueduct
Randy and Nora Schenk and Central Bucks Bicycle Club, Canal Tenders – 215-579-0705 – mailto:norandy@verizon.net

Upper Makefield Township: Stoney Run Aqueduct to Mt. Eyre Road
Gordon Heisler and Traditions Volunteers, Canal Tenders – 215-493-1875 – mailto:heislog1@gmail.com

Lower Makefield Township/Yardley: Mt. Eyre Road to Afton Avenue
Eileen Kileen and Yardley Friends Meeting – 215-369-1650 – mailto:eileenk29@gmail.com

Yardley/Lower Makefield Township: Afton Avenue to Black Rock Road
Keith Webb, Canal Tender – 215-295-4063 –mailto:wweebbss@hotmail.com

Lower Makefield Township/Morrisville: Black Rock Road to Trenton Avenue
Hal Long and Morrisville-Yardley Area Rotary Club, Canal Tenders – 215-493-4962 – mailto:hlong2306@gmail.com

Morrisville: Trenton Avenue to Bridge Street
Mayor Dave Rivella – 215-295-5030 –mailto:mayordaverivella@aol.com

Morrisville: Bridge Street to Railroad Obstruction
Lynn Vogel and Josh Gradwohl, Canal Tenders – 215-595-6114 – mailto:lvogel419@comcast.net A volunteer with a canoe or rowboat would be very welcome.

Falls Township: Railroad Obstruction to Tyburn Road
Jerry Taylor – 215-493-6625 –mailto:jerry.taylor35@verizon.net

Falls Township: Tyburn Road to Falls Township Park
Susan Taylor – 215-493-6625 – mailto:susanhtaylor@verizon.net

Falls Township: Falls Township Park to Mill Creek Road
Renee Thompson and Boy Scout Troop 46 –mailto:renee@fallstwp.com.  Will work on a later date.

Falls Township/Tullytown: Mill Creek Road to Levittown Shopping Center
Jeff Connell, Canal Tender – 732-581-9464 – mailto:jeffconnell@comcast.net

Bristol Township: Levittown Shopping Center (Sonic) to Green Lane
Ed Armstrong and GOAL (Greenbelt Overhaul Alliance of Levittown) – mailto:edarmstrong@verizon.net

Bristol Borough: Green Lane to Lagoon Park
Brett Webber – 215-840-2034 – mailto:bw@bwadesign.com

Bristol Borough: Lagoon Park to Riverfront Park
Jose Acevado, Canal Tender – mailto:cm317@comcast.net